Home

The Joy of Violent Movement

Jumping Back into the New York Music Scene: A View of
Northside Music Festival, by Natalie Hamingson

As Will mentioned in his preview, one of the beauties of a
festival like Northside is the chance for new discoveries. This was especially
true for me, as I started off the week knowing very little about the festival’s
massive line up.

You see, I just moved back to New York after spending some
time with family in the Midwest. While I know the soundtrack to Frozen pretty well (https://nataliejill.wordpress.com/2015/05/13/the-six-keys-to-happiness-according-to-toddlers/),
I’m sorry to say that this music journalist has fallen very, very far out of
the loop in the non-Disney part of the music world. Luckily, I was able to make
up for my two-year musical dry spell in just four days, as I sampled some
afrobeat, electronica, and good old-fashioned rock’n’roll at Northside’s
multi-venue showcases.

THURSDAY, JUNE 11

View original post 1,510 more words

Leave a Reply

