Home

I recently did an interview for “Moms on the Couch,” a YouTube series featuring stories from moms (and in my case, daughters with their moms) who have been positively impacted by the Affordable Care Act. The law, otherwise known as “Obamacare,” allows me to stay on my dad’s insurance plan until I am 26. The timing of this legislation was crucial for me, as it was enacted right around the time I developed biliary dyskinesia. The condition took almost two years to diagnose and culminated in an emergency gallbladder removal surgery this past July. Without insurance, what was already a stressful ordeal would have been catastrophic. But thanks to Obamacare, I am healthy and not in severe debt today.

The series was created by Spike Dolomite Ward, and inspired by the storytellers of Nuns on the Bus. Spike became an active supporter of Obamacare after the law allowed her to buy insurance through PCIP, the Pre-existing Condition Insurance Plan, after being diagnosed with breast cancer.

Spike also happens to be a very dear family friend. My mom, who has known Spike since I was four, was on the original Board of Directors for her non-profit, Arts in Education Aid Council . She’s also a former art teacher of mine. Her drawing and cartoon classes were one of my favorite extracurricular activities during Middle School.

As the election gets closer, I seem to be getting into a lot of heated political arguments. In every instance, I have been told in one way or another that I take politics “too personally.” I fail to see why this is a bad thing. Mitt Romney has threatened to repeal a law that has literally saved the lives of myself, as well as some people very close to me, if he is elected. Of course that’s personal.

I still know plenty of people who are left out until the mandate goes into effect in 2014, including several friends over the age of 26 who can’t afford coverage. My own mother lost her insurance when my parents divorced six years ago. In spite of her extreme work ethic (Seriously, I’ve seen my mom work many late nights and 60 hour weeks) she just hasn’t been able to find employment that provides insurance, or that pays enough for her to purchase it on her own. Electing a man who thinks that her or my friends are not “personally responsible” isn’t going to get them insured any faster, though.

One thought on “Moms (and Daughters) on the Couch for Obamacare

  1. Pingback: The Six Keys to Happiness According to Toddlers | Natalie Jill's Inner-View

Leave a Reply

